If I have an Eating Disorder, than I must continue to have an Eating Disorder right?

WRONG!!!

Often we tell ourselves and actually convince ourselves of things.

“I have no self control when it comes to eating chips.”

“I will always have an Eating Disorder.”

“I eat chocolate every day and feel like shit after.”

No, no and no!

The more you tell yourself something, the more it becomes true.

You need to start in the future first.


“I use to have no self control when it comes to eating chips, but now I just enjoy as much as I want to feel satisfied.”

“I use to have an Eating Disorder but have been working my ass off to recover.”

“I use to eat chocolate every day and felt like shit, but now enjoy a few bites of it.”



I’m so so so guilty of this.  I have said to myself numerous times that I will always be the person who has an Eating Disorder.  People will always see me that way. And so that is just the way it has to be.

Sure, if I keep telling myself that, I will always be that.

But if I said the opposite by looking at the future and telling myself that I am going to recover, I am going to get better, what I end up doing is encouraging myself instead of giving myself permission to give up and stay where I am.

It’s important not to live with something you don’t like about yourself.  You have one life to live on this planet and need to make the most of it.  Don’t assume that you are what you are.  You can be whatever you want to be.  You make the choices, you make the change.  You get to decide.

So, decide. You might be happy with who you are right now.  But if you aren’t, change it.

You have the power.  Don’t let your illness, disease, anxiety, thoughts, fears or anything else get in the way.  You are much stronger than any of those forces.

Leave a Reply

