The Elephant In The Room

I always wonder what people think when they see me.

Do they feel sorry for me?  Do they look at me with concern?  Do they want to ask me questions but are too worried?  I often feel like there is something they want to ask or say but are too worried or afraid to bring it up.  Whether this be a stranger or someone I know.

But…today I walked the kids to school and bumped into someone I haven’t seen in a few weeks.  Instead of that “look” – she said, “You look amazing.  Seriously, you look great.  I’m happy for you.”

She didn’t have to say more.  It may not show in my legs, in my arms, in my chest or stomach.  But it shows in my eyes.  In my smile.

I am happier.  I feel happy and therefore I give off positive vibes.  I smile.  I have energy.  I’m out and about.  That shows.  So remember, that elephant is sometimes silent because of what you are looking at physically, but look above my neck and look at my eyes and my smile – you will see a happier person.  Happy makes you healthy, so it is happening and people are noticing.

The elephant in the room is based on physical appearance.  Please notice everything about a person who may be struggling with a physical or mental illness.  Changes happen in different ways.  Mine happens in my smile.  In my shining eyes.

Don’t be afraid of the elephant.  You can always ask me how I’m doing or what’s going on.  I’m an open book.  If you haven’t already noticed.

 

Leave a Reply

