Change the sweater

Hi everyone,

I did my speaking engagement last night and it went better than I thought it would.

I wasn’t nervous.  I was proud, excited and happy to share the truth.

I had such a great, amazing, terrific turnout.  Family and friends supported me and really made me feel special.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.  I really love you all.

My poor mother.  The image of her crying while my cousin rubbed her back was heartbreaking.  As a mother I know what it’s like to watch your child suffer.  It is the worst, most awful thing that no parent should ever experience.  I sometimes forget that I’m her child.  That was very difficult to see.

I will be posting my speech this week.

In the meantime, I wanted to share something with you.

This morning I woke up, showered and got dressed.  I had to take my son to basketball and pick up my other two boys.  I was bloated.  I haven’t used the washroom in a few days so my stomach was protruding and was very uncomfortable.

Yikes.  But after everything I read last night and everything I have thought about leading up to last night I certainly wasn’t about to act on these urges and temptations.

As I said in my speech – choices.  I have the power to choose.

I had two choices today as I felt so awful.

  1. Take laxatives and feel empty and not bloated.
  2. Change the sweater.

I changed the sweater I was wearing.  It clung to me and I knew it would bother me all day and extenuate my stomach.  So I changed what I was wearing.

Problem solved.

I told my brother about this and he said when I’m faced with these situations I have to pull a George Constanza.  Do the opposite.

Leave a Reply

