New Year

I am excited for what lies ahead in 2017.

There is something to be said about a New Year. New Beginning.  Fresh Start.  It brings optimism and a way to challenge yourself. We should be able to challenge ourselves whenever we need to, but more often than not – it’s The New Year when we decide to make major changes.

I have not decided to wait until 2017 to make changes.  I have been working very hard in 2016 to make changes.  2017 will be a year without ED.  I will begin the year and end the year without him.  He has been a part of my life for so long that I simply cannot spend another year, month, week, day, hour, minute or second with him.  So the work I have been doing so far will lead to my success in 2017 and onward.  Recovery is not quick.  Recovery is not simple.  Recovery is definitely not easy.  I wish it was.  Seems unfair really.  You want to make a change, you want to get better and you have to work so hard at it instead of the change just happening.  But that is what life is all about.  Nothing comes easy – and that’s okay.  This “experience” has taught me so much.  It has given me an outlook on life that I never would’ve imagined.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s certainly not something I would’ve wanted, but I was dealt these cards so I had to play the game.

As the New Year approaches, I look forward to a year and life without ED.  I have done it before, and I know I can do it again.  I’ve lived with him far too long and am ready for a life without him.  All of the work I have been doing leading up to this point will bring an exciting 2017.

New Job.

No ED.

New Beginning.

Life.

Leave a Reply

