You’re not writing in your blog now

I got a text yesterday from a bestie of mine (xo NMM) with this statement.  It’s nice to know that people do follow my journey and miss my absence.

If you are struggling with an Eating Disorder or any type of addiction or preoccupation with food/anything else – I came across a great exercise (no pun intended) to do.  I will use ED as an example.

Make Two Lists:

  1. What does my Eating Disorder give me?
  2. What is my Eating Disorder costing me?

 

Here are my lists:

What does my Eating Disorder give me?

  1. Comfort
  2. Control
  3. Familiarity
  4. An escape
  5. An excuse

What is my Eating Disorder costing me?

  1. Freedom
  2. A life
  3. Health
  4. Sleep
  5. Purpose
  6. Motivation
  7. Integrity
  8. Trust
  9. Time
  10. Money

 

When you look at the two lists, you notice that the second one is longer, but the reasons on it are much  more powerful and meaningful than the first.

I can get comfort from my friends and family, I can get control in my dreams of doing something creative, familiarity isn’t always a good thing – it’s nice to be spontaneous, an escape can be a bubble bath at night and an excuse?  An excuse for what?  That list is all bullshit.

When you do this exercise, focus on the “costing me” list.  Because those are the things that are harder to get back.  The “give me” list can be found in other more positive ways.

Don’t do anything in your life that is costing you anything.

Live your life well.  You only have one life to live.

Leave a Reply

