Changes

If you are struggling with an Eating Disorder, or struggling with anything else a good thing to do is a Why and Why Not List exercise.

Similar to a Pro and Con list, but the difference here is that it’s black and white.

Let’s take my Eating Disorder as an example.

  1. Why do I want to give up the Eating Disorder?

2. Why do I NOT want to give up the Eating Disorder?

What I mean by black and white, is that you can look at a pro and con list and not get a clear sense of what the right choice is.  But with this type of thing, you do.

Answers:

  1. I want to give up the Eating Disorder because I will die if I don’t.
  2. I don’t want to give up the Eating Disorder because it’s familiar.

 

Clear as day.

But, what you have to realize is that although the answer is obvious, the reason why I don’t want to give it up has always been very powerful.

Knowing what I know, doing what I do, the life that I have lived has to cease and change. Good or bad that is a tough thing to do.  Change is scary.  No matter what the outcome is.

This makes sense:

If you don’t like something change it; if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it. ~Mary Engelbreit

When you change the way you think, you are able to change anything.

Leave a Reply

