Poo Poo KaKa

Yep, we are talking about it.  It’s the elephant in the room.

Laxatives.

People hate when they have an upset stomach.  The pain associated with it can be excruciating.  It is equally awful to be out in public and have to use the washroom.  So imagine the hell I have put myself through.  Non-stop.  For hours upon hours upon hours. Sadly I got accustomed to it.  I was able to leave the house and try to carry on.  If I didn’t, I would be home for days. I would make frequent bathroom visits and to me this became “normal.”  But I knew it wasn’t.

People ask me (or try to ask, because again – it’s not the most comfortable of topics to discuss) if I’m able to use the washroom on my own.  They are shocked when my answer is yes.  Quite frankly, I too am shocked.  It usually would take about 4″ish” days after a laxative binge for my stomach to work on it’s own.  Amazing isn’t it?

Was I waiting for my bowels to stop working?  Was I waiting to shit my pants one day?  Was I waiting to be diagnosed with inflammatory bowel disease?  What was I waiting for?  A sign that told me I had one more chance until I would have to have surgery or to find out that my bowels simply stopped working.  Than what?

It’s sad that I thought I was invincible.  I could keep doing what I want and nothing would happen.  The “benefits” outweighed an awful outcome that was possible  And it is possible.  It’s not only possible it’s inevitable.  It’s just a matter of when.

 

Leave a Reply

