Question. And Answer

Thank you for your questions.
Here is one I received last night:

“I know you are working towards recovery and that’s great.
You have talked a lot about the tools you put into place to get out of a potentially bad situation.

In all honesty, I know you can look at the big picture and tell yourself why you shouldn’t continue with this behaviour – but in the moment – when temptations are at it’s highest…how do you cope? How do you get out of that split second decision.”

Great question and one that I have always had such difficulty with. I’m an all or nothing kind of person. When I make up my mind to do something, I do it. Eating Disorder included. When I’m in that moment, about to make that decision, I have to try as best as I can to remind myself that it won’t end. IT WILL NEVER, EVER END. I hate the actions, I hate the behaviour, I hate the lying, I hate the time spent engaging in an eating disorder. Nothing about it is appealing. I wake up every day ready to conquer the world and excited to have a life without ED. So at night (my hardest time), I have to remind myself how shitty I will feel if I make that wrong decision and that this “one more time”, will be the rest of my life.

Next time, try that. Ask yourself. Do I want this to be my forever? Do I want this to be the way I am going to live the rest of my life?

If you allow ED to win, you will live like that forever. If you think you can stop after one more time, you have to know it never is just one more time. It’s one more time for now.

You need to stop thinking one more time and say NO. No more times.
It ends now.

No time like the present to stop.

Leave a Reply

