ED is the bad one, NOT ME!

I know I’m not myself.  I get that.  But I sure as hell don’t feel as if I am someone completely different.  I am true to who I have always been.  I’m thoughtful, caring, loving, devoted, loyal, friendly, outgoing, personable, trustworthy, kind and considerate.  No disease in the world can take that away from me.

I will always be those things.  I will never be a malicious, rude, ignorant, awful person.  It’s not possible.  I don’t have that in me.

The negative qualities that come along with an Eating Disorder are confusion, anger, depression, anxiety and distraction.  But that is the demon trying to take over and me trying hard not to allow that to happen.  That is what goes on during recovery.

If you ever see a side of me you don’t like. Tell me.  I am happy to explain why.   And look, I’m entitled to a bad day – aren’t we all?

If you have known me for a long time, and hopefully even a short time you will know who I really am.  And that the moments of weakness I have are not Lisa – they are ED.

So I want to thank all of the very special people in my life who have stood by me, supported me and most importantly understood me.  Not taken this disease and use it against me.

Leave a Reply

