No! I don’t like chocolate. Here’s why.

People are shocked when I tell them that I don’t like chocolate.  How can that be?

My guilty pleasure is jube jubes.  Sugar.  That’s my treat of choice.

But, I don’t dislike chocolate simply because of the taste.  I haven’t liked it for about 15 years.

I remember it well.  I was working at Bagel Plus.  I was trying to come up with a new and innovative way to take laxatives.  It was becoming very hard to take so many and I often found myself gagging as a result.

So I decided to try the chocolate tablets.  I thought I was a genius.  Forget the pink hard pills, chocolate.  I felt like I had cracked some big algorithm equation.

But after just a few bites and chews, I wanted to puke.  The consistency was DI. SGUS. TING!  Beyond gross.  Worse than the tablets.  But I had to finish them because I had bought them, decided to take them and planned my day accordingly.  I felt like I was on an episode of survivor and I was being forced to eat something awful.

And that was it.  That was the moment when chocolate was no longer a friend of mine.  It left such an awful taste in my mouth that I was forever scarred.

People often tell me how lucky I am that I don’t like chocolate because they have no self control.

But, I look at it as another part of my life that ED took away, destroyed, manipulated and ruined.  It’s such a small simple thing, but to me – it’s HUGE.

Leave a Reply

