Finding Myself – Professionally

A huge part of someone’s life is their job.  You are for most of your day.  So you should really, really like it.  In fact you should love it.  And I don’t.

Many people can live with it.  Stay in a job they don’t enjoy.  I cannot.  That’s not me.  I am not giving up time during the day to sit in a job that doesn’t thrill me.  I have always been told that I should be involved in event planning of some sorts.  Dealing with people and essentially shmoozing all day.

As I speak more and more to S, I realize that I can follow my dreams.  I don’t have to do what is “expected.”  So as I sit at my desk (typing this – not working) I realize that moving around papers, coordinating someone’s calendar and taking minutes at board meetings IS SOOOOO NOT ME.  I know I’m good at what I do, but I don’t enjoy it.  It’s not fun, it’s not exciting and it’s not Lisa.  So why stay?  Just because you are good at something, doesn’t mean it is what you are suppose to do.

So, I’ve been making connections.  Today I made a great one with an old friend from College.  I sent her my resume and said that we would set up a time to talk.  Her business is party planning, events and give-aways.  Um, hello?  Way more fun than booking a meeting room for my boss.  Booooorrrring.

I am on the hunt to find what I love, what I’m good at and most importantly what will make me happy.  It has taken some trial and error, but isn’t that what life is about?

Leave a Reply

