Memory

Last night Adam came downstairs and said that he couldn’t fall asleep.

We went back to his room and I told him that I was going to give him a project.  He had to think of four things that he wanted to do for this birthday.  When he woke up in the morning we would talk about it and he would report back to me.

When I was getting ready for bed, I went into each of the boys rooms (as I always do – because they are usually upside down, sheets are all over the floor and generally I have to clean up what looks like a crime scene).  I noticed a pad of paper and a pencil on Adam’s night table.  I opened it up to find a list.

IDIAS FOR MY BIRTHDAY

  • SMORES
  • STAY UP LATE
  • WATCH MOVIES
  • PLAY GAMES

I sat on the edge of his bed, staring at this little human.  Human I created.  Human who took what I asked him to do to heart.  He wanted to fall asleep, he wanted to do the project I assigned to him and it was important enough for him to write it down.

There I was.  11pm.  Sitting on Adam’s bed.  With tears in my eyes.  This moment, this day I will never get back.  This memory.  I will share it with him when he’s older and tell him what it meant to me.  He won’t remember what he did, but I will never forget this moment.  This human made me happy by doing something so simple yet one of the most significant things that I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

