Sorry. I’ve been MIA

No reason. Just busy.

A good friend of mine was over last night. She was telling me about some personal struggles she has been going through. She kept saying, I’m not trying to compare what I’m going through with what you are going through.

Everyone has something they are going through, have gone through or will go through that becomes their personal hell. If you haven’t gone through it, you can’t relate. But you try to empathize.  Someone who hasn’t experienced an eating disorder thinks, just eat.  Just stop.  The same way I think of an alcoholic or drug addict.  Stop using.  It must be easy enough.

So, I know my friend’s struggle is just as hard for her as mine is for me. Because it’s her personal hell. This is mine. It’s equally important.

I reached out to Rachel, the girl I mentioned earlier who weighed just 40lbs 6 months ago. We’ve chatted a bit. I asked what her turning point was. When did she decide that she was not going to try to get to 35lbs. She said she almost died many times. And the hurt in her husbands eyes was enough. She is doing well, day by day, step by step. Anyone can get better. Or anyone can make their situation worth living for.

They say what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. At this rate, I’m destined to be a body builder.

Leave a Reply

