Am I lucky to be thin?

I was in line today at Longos.  Sunday.  Busy.

This obnoxious woman decided to check out at the express line with her 20 plus items. The poor cashier tried to explain to her that she can’t hold up the line but was bullied by this obnoxious woman.  The manager came over and stood by her staff member but wanted this customer out of the store, so they rang her through.

When all was said and done, the woman behind me struck up a conversation.  We were just discussing how people feel they have a sense of entitlement, yada, yada, yada.

During this, my cell phone rang.  It was my mom.  She left for a cruise yesterday so I was very excited to hear from her.  We were on the phone just over two minutes.  At the end I told her to have a great time, say hi to Auntie Toby and I loved them both.  The woman behind me definitely heard the conversation, because my phone only works on speaker – so lucky for everyone they were able to listen in.

After I hung up my new BFF said to me “You are so lucky that you are thin.  You must get to eat anything you want.”

What? I..Um, huh, WTF?

Why??????????????????????????

This is what our society has come to.

Aren’t I lucky because I have a loving relationship with my mother?  Aren’t I lucky because I have money to buy groceries for my family?  Aren’t I lucky because I have three beautiful kids?

Why am I lucky because I’m thin?

And I’m not thin.  And I don’t get to eat whatever I want.  But how do you respond?  Oh, I’m not naturally thin.  I have an eating disorder that I’m struggling with and doing everything in my power to make it go away.

I guess the look on my face gave her enough of an indication to back off.  I was embarrassed and didn’t know what to say.

She went back to talking about the obnoxious customer.

Who gives a shit if someone is thin?  Has it brought me happiness?  Has it given me anything?

Everything I have achieved and the happiness I have earned is when ED has not had control, but when I have had control.  He hasn’t given me anything but problems and a glimpse into hell.

I would rather stand in line at Longo’s and have someone acknowledge the important things in my life.

Leave a Reply

