Sheena’s Place

Last night I went to a group session at Sheena’s Place.

For those of you that don’t know what Sheena’s Place is: A community based support centre in Toronto offering support group programs, outreach/education, and resources for parents and teens (yes, taken right off of their website).  Basically it’s a cute little house on Spadina that offers a variety of group sessions.

The group I signed up for is called Moms Living with ED.  It runs every Tuesday from 6:30pm – 8pm.  In the afternoon I started to convince myself that I didn’t want to go.  That’s what I do.  I have good intentions, but as it comes close to facing the reality I get scared.  But….I knew I had to go – so I did.  And I am so glad I went.

There were 6 girls there.  A variety of backgrounds, ages, experiences and personalities.  People I never would have formed relationships with because of where we live and where we are at in our lives.  But our one common thread is that we all suffer from an Eating Disorder.  The oldest woman in the group is in her fifties and has suffered for over 30 years!  Another one is a stand up comic who uses her humour to get through rough times.  One is a new mom, one is pregnant and another one has two kids and her Eating Disorder is relatively new.

We go around the circle, introduce ourselves and talk about the week we have had.  It’s amazing how different we are, yet how similar we are.  6 girls that couldn’t be more different come together with a common thread bonding them.  So many times someone would be speaking and one of us would say, I know exactly what you mean.  It’s great to have this outlet and speak to other people that are going through the same shit.

At the end of the session, we go around the circle one more time.  This time we each have to set a goal for the week.  Something big, something small – just something significant.  Next week we will start the session by seeing if we were able to accomplish our goal.

As much as I was prepared to skip the session, I’m really glad I didn’t.  Having support from girls who are walking a mile in my shoes is exactly what I need.

Leave a Reply

