When was the last time you took?

That seems to be a very popular question.  People want to know.  I understand why.  They are hoping that my answer will be “a week”, “two weeks”, hell even “three weeks”.

I have been able to master a week.  But, something happens at the one week mark and I have a set back.  Tomorrow will be day 5.  I need to make it to Saturday.  That will be a huge milestone for me.  That will make it 7 days.  It’s been a while since I’ve gone 7 days, but I am hopeful that I can do it.  With some helpful tools from my therapist, I know that I can do it.

I never keep laxatives in the house.  I buy right before I am about to take them.  My therapist said that when I’m tempted to go by them, try and prolong it by one day.  The goal is to keep putting more days in between episodes and decrease the number of laxatives.  So far, I have been able to do both.  So, although it doesn’t seem like I’m making progress – I am.  What you have to understand is that this will not happen quickly.  It is a process.  Small baby steps like this may seem insignificant, but they are in fact huge leaps and bounds of progress.

Two months ago I was taking close to 60 laxatives every 3-4 days.  (I’m sorry for the shock value here, but I promised I would be honest).  And now, I know that I can go a week without taking them, and the quantity when I do has decreased by more than a third.

I look forward to my blog entry on Saturday reporting that I have reached a huge milestone.

So, ask me on Saturday.  “When was the last time you took?”

Leave a Reply

